GOBI webinar series



OCTOBER 2020 – JANUARY 2021


GOBI presents a series of six webinars highlighting results from its 5-year programme of work



In 2016, GOBI secured 5-year funding for a programme of research to use EBSA descriptions as the basis for promoting environmental protection and management for specific areas of the ocean. Four and a half years on, the results of this exciting work are emerging and we would like the opportunity to share them with you. We have lined up six webinars, each focusing on one key area of research, and presented by the research leads. Details of the webinars are shown below – everyone is welcome! Please feel free to share the information about these events with colleagues who may be interested. A recording of the webinars will be available on this page for those who missed the live show.


WEDNESDAY 28 OCTOBER 2020

Introducing Important Marine Mammal Areas – IMMAs – a new tool for global marine mammal and biodiversity conservation [details]

Presented by Erich Hoyt and Giuseppe Notarbartolo di Sciara, IUCN SSC-WCPA Marine Mammal Protected Area Task Force


THURSDAY 12 NOVEMBER 2020

Here, there and everywhere:
migratory connectivity in the ocean [details]

Presented by Daniel Dunn, University of Queensland and Duke University


THURSDAY 26 NOVEMBER 2020
2pm GMT / 3pm CET

The utility of seabird tracking data to inform
marine conservation [details]

Presented by Maria Dias and Tammy Davies of BirdLife International


THURSDAY 10 DECEMBER 2020
9am GMT / 8pm AEDT

Bioregionalisation of the Indian and
southern Pacific Oceans [details]

Presented by Piers Dunstan, CSIRO


WEDNESDAY 13 JANUARY 2021
time to be confirmed

The Costa Rica Thermal Dome – international cooperation in the governance of areas beyond national jurisdiction [details]

Presented by Jorge Jiménez, Fundación MarViva


THURSDAY 28 JANUARY 2021
4pm GMT / 11am EST

Protecting biodiversity at deep-sea hydrothermal vents [details]

Presented by Cindy Van Dover and colleagues, Duke University